All On Georgia

GA’s Attorney General joins 21 states to protect second Amendment rights

Georgia’s Attorney General Chris Carr has joined 21 other states urging the United States Supreme Court to defend the rights of gun owners in Georgia and across the country.

In a press release last Thursday before the Labor Day Holiday, Chris Carr said the following:

“It is the duty of the Office of the Attorney General to uphold and defend the rights and liberties of our citizens under both the U.S. and Georgia Constitutions,” said Attorney General Chris Carr. “The Second Amendment gives law abiding citizens the right to not only keep, but also to bear, arms and we joined this brief because the Fourth U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals inappropriately adopted an unduly restrictive view of the Second Amendment.”

The coalition of 21-states filed the case on August 25th 2017 asking the nation’s highest court to hear a challenge from Maryland’s weapons ban.

The court brief states that Maryland’s ban infringes on the rights afforded by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. The ban prohibits the sale, transfer, and possession of a class of firearms that are common use for by lawful individuals.

The National Rifle Association states that Maryland’s ban commonly owned rifles is unconstitutional.  

The common weapons targeted in the Maryland weapons ban includes AR-15s as well as standard capacity detachable magazines that hold more than 10 rounds and certain semiautomatic guns.

West Virginia and its partner states argue the lower court ruling inappropriately limited the scope of the Second Amendment by taking an earlier Supreme Court ruling out of context.

The following 21 states that have filed as a coalition, including Georgia,  are as follows:

The following states, led by West Virginia, also supported the friend-of-the-court brief: Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming.